Saba’s volcanic origins meant it possessed a healthy amount of sulphur, and in the late 19th century a sulphur mine was established. Sulphur was shipped down on a line to ships near the Green Island pinnacle. The mine changed hands many times… one owner committed suicide, cutting his own throat in a New York motel in 1881. Finally, in 1909, The Saba Sulphur Company was dissolved.
Situated below Lower Hell’s Gate, the mine was a curiosity to some hikers, although its winding, cramped passageways, stifling heat, and sulphurous fumes made it a fairly dangerous place to explore. A tourist went missing in 2006, and nearly a year later his mummified remains were discovered when a group of hikers had gotten lost in the mines, nearly succumbing to the fumes themselves after their flashlight died. Fortunately, one had a keychain light and they managed to find their way out, discovering the body on the way.
For a time, the mines were closed and parts of it were sealed off. Today, the Sulphur Mine is open to visitors, but most of it is blocked off. Even now, it is recommended you never go in alone. Click the photos below for a short slideshow of some mine photos.